💡 This feature is only available for Enterprise accounts.

Allow users to only access what they need within the Swell dashboard by configuring user roles and permissions. Roles can restrict viewing certain areas of the dashboard, provide limited access, or allow full control over specific content.

Each role is configured by a defined set of permissions, and each area of the dashboard is assigned its own permission level. The permission level determines what level of access a user with a given role will have for a specific area of the dashboard.

Permission levels

There are four permission levels used to define the access permissions for each default or custom role within the dashboard:

  1. Full: provides complete control to view, create, delete, and edit

  2. Manage: provides the ability to access and edit existing entries

  3. View: only allows viewing of existing entries in a respective area of the dashboard

  4. Restrict: prevents the user from accessing that part of the dashboard

Default roles

There are several roles that are included by default for Enterprise accounts. These roles can be used immediately and require no prior configuration before assignment. These default roles can also be edited and customized based on your company's specific needs.

Default roles and their permissions levels:

  • Admin: Full access across all areas of the dashboard.

  • Developer: Full access for Integrations, Storefront, Developer, and Settings / General; View access for all other areas of the dashboard.

  • Marketing: Full access for Promotions, Manage access for Coupons, and View access for all other areas of the dashboard.

  • Merchandiser: Manage access for Products, Orders, Subscriptions, Promotions, Settings / Orders, and Settings / Subscriptions; View access for all other areas of the dashboard.

  • Operations: Full control for Orders and Subscriptions, Restrict access for Storefront and Developer, and View access for all areas of the dashboard.

  • Read-only: View access for all areas of the dashboard.

Managing roles

User roles can only be edited by users who have the appropriate permissions level for Settings / Users. Those with access can assign, manage, remove, and customize role permissions and users' roles in the dashboard.

Creating new roles

Additional roles can be created and customized by selecting New role. From there, enter the role name, the desired permission levels for each entry, and save the role. Once saved, it can be assigned to existing users and used in email invitations when adding new users.

Assigning roles

For existing users, roles can be updated by selecting the particular user for which you wish to assign a role, choosing the role from the drop-down, and saving the changes. When inviting new users, select the desired role from within the invitation window before sending the invite.

Did this answer your question?